Home/News /Illinois Representatives appointed to National Route 66 Steering Committee
Illinois Representatives appointed to National Route 66 Steering Committee

As a result of the National Route 66 Road Ahead roundtable held in Anaheim, California in November, 2013, a steering committee has been formed to move ahead with the agenda set at the conference. Four Illinois representatives have now been chosen: Bill Kelly, Executive Director of the Illinois Route 66 Scenic Byway; Pontiac Mayor Bob Russell; Bill Thomas, Interim Executive Director of the Lincoln/Logan County Development Partnership; and Jen Hoelzle, deputy director of the Illinois Office of Tourism (IOT).

The goal of the committee is to develop a potential framework of national collaboration that will represent the stakeholders along all of Route 66 nationwide in order to preserve, promote, and enhance economic opportunities for the communities located on Route 66. The committee will hold a workshop session in Albuquerque, New Mexico in late November.

The 2013 conference and subsequent committee are a joint venture of the World Monuments Fund (WMF) and the National Park Service (NPS). The report produced at the 2013 roundtable can be read and downloaded at www.wmf.org/dig-deeper/publication/route-66-road-ahead